The Old Woman s Daughter

Finally , what I have called the Old Woman , the feminine Self , British psychoanalyst Neville Symington calls an attitude of heart and soul that is open , accepting , and cherishing of all that is within it .

The Old Woman s Daughter

Also available in an open-access, full-text edition at http://oaktrust.library.tamu.edu/handle/1969.1/86078 The Old Woman's Daughter offers men and women alike a way to make sense of their lives and find more healing alternatives than offered by our present culture. In gentle, evocative imagery, Jungian analyst Claire Douglas invites readers to reconnect with the ancient tradition of the feminine, the “Old Woman,” symbolized by her own Celtic grandmother. After considering the dangers to individuals and the society of the masculine-focused dualities of our own culture, Douglas describes an alternative that incorporates the feminine self within each of us, man or woman. Douglas draws on myth and story, her own experiences, poetry, the dreams of some of her patients, and images available from Tibetan Buddhism to find archetypes that help us recognize our inheritance from the Old Woman. She describes a form of therapy that emphasizes “cherishment” or bonding for the purpose of recovering our ties to the ancient feminine, and she deftly incorporates her search for her own voice in shaping the book into an organic whole. Rising from Douglas's lifelong interest in the psychology of the feminine, this book shows how healing is related naturally to a Motherline of attunement, connection, and cherishment.

More Books:

The Old Woman's Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 175
Authors: Claire Douglas
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: Texas A&M University Press

Also available in an open-access, full-text edition at http://oaktrust.library.tamu.edu/handle/1969.1/86078 The Old Woman's Daughter offers men and women alike a way to make sense of their lives and find more healing alternatives than offered by our present culture. In gentle, evocative imagery, Jungian analyst Claire Douglas invites readers to reconnect with
Forensic Psychotherapy
Language: en
Pages: 992
Authors: Christopher Cordess, Murray Cox
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995-07-01 - Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers

Widely regarded as the definitive work on forensic psychotherapy, this major compendium is now published in paperback in one volume. This compendium of forensic psychotherapy brings together the contributions of over sixty authors and covers all aspects- both theoretical and applied- of this currently crystallizing field.
Spontaneity
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Gemma Corradi Fiumara
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-03-25 - Publisher: Routledge

Psychoanalytic theory frequently explains psychopathology from the perspective of either inadequate early care or as the result of environmental factors. In this book the author suggests that poor mental health can be a result of our incapacity to respond to internal and external stimuli, and indicates that spontaneity is essential
On Being Christian and Human
Language: en
Pages: 286
Authors: Todd H. Speidell
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-04-17 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

In the tradition of Karl Barth, T. F. and J. B. Torrance, and Ray Anderson, this collection of essays articulates a theology of ministry based on the humanity of Christ. A Christian theology of ministry, it insists, can be nothing less than a theology for humanity.
Psychoanalysis and Creativity in Everyday Life
Language: en
Pages: 158
Authors: Gemma Corradi Fiumara
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-05-29 - Publisher: Routledge

Psychoanalysis and Creativity in Everyday Life: Ordinary Genius is an attempt to create a psychoanalytic space for the quest and questions of our everyday creativity. Official creativity is normally applauded to the point of obscuring all other types of creativity, with detrimental consequences for our psychic life. However, as Gemma